Serving the community of North Shields since 1668
Christ Church North Shields, Preston Road, North Shields, NE29 0LW, Tel: 0191 258 6653, email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Double click to insert body text here ...
Please be aware that our email address email@example.com is currently down. Please use firstname.lastname@example.org instead to contact us with any enquiries
Since 1668 Christ Church has stood at the heart of North Shields. Originally serving people from Whitley Bay to Wallsend it was known as Tynemouth Parish Church. Today the church seeks to reach out to the whole community of North Shields.
When you enter Christ Church you are struck by its peace and beauty. The building is light and airy, and with seating for over 300 people it is a popular venue for weddings and concerts.
For the historically minded, there are many unexpected delights: the parish stocks last used in 1832, the organ reportedly brought from Vauxhall Gardens in London in 1794, a fine ringing chamber with 10 bells, six dating from 1788 and still rung regularly today. There are interesting tombstones, including one from the Collingwood family whose family vault was in the churchyard and that of a previous vicar, Thomas Dockwray.
There are reminders of the strong seafaring traditions of the parish - the Mariners Chapel includes stained glass given for the centenary of the RNLI in Tynemouth and ship models from about 1820.
It is true that the outside of Christ Church has a rugged feel and suffered from the effects of centuries of coal burning. Window protection has also become discoloured, which even leaves some visitors wondering whether the church is now closed! (We look forward to remedying this problem with the support of our friends). The Church and Parish Centre are actually used most days of the week for services, community events, music and heritage events.
Christ Church bears witness to a long and fascinating past. It would be worth looking after for that reason alone, but more than that it stands as witness to the living faith of those who worshipped here over the centuries.
The Lifeboat Window (1962) in the Seamen's Chapel depicts important events in the history of the lifeboat in Tynemouth.
It was designed and made by Dr L C Evetts
The East Window, designed and made by Dr L C Evetts
For those interested in viewing the church archives, these are now held at Woodhorn Museum in Ashington. Please visit http://www.experiencewoodhorn.com/ for more details.